Tour de France 2016: Chris Froome is the winner

Alt="Tour de France"

Britain’s Chris Froome is the winner of number 103 of the Tour de France. The captain of the team Sky kept the yellow jersey even after the end of the last stage, departing from Chantilly and arrival to the Champs-Elysees in Paris. For the British rider is the third victory in the Grande Boucle, the second straight: after him, on the final podium, French Romain Bardet and the Colombian Nairo Quintana, spaced respectively 4’05” and 4’21”. The best Italian in general is Fabio Aru, 13th at 19’20” from Froome.

The 21st and final stage of the competition went instead to André Greipel: German sprinter, the first success in this edition of the Grande Boucle, and the second win on the Champs-Elysees after the one of 2015, beat in the sprint Peter Sagan and Alexandre Kristoff .


1. Christopher Froome (Gbr, Sky) in 86h21’40”
2. Romain Bardet (Fra, Ag2R) at 04’05”
3. Nairo Quintana (Col, Movistar) at 04’21”
4. Adam Yates (Gbr) at 04’42”
5. Richie Porte (Aus) in 05’17”
6. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) at 06’16”
7. Joaquin Rodriguez (Esp) at 06’58”
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) at 06’58”
9. Daniel Martin (Irl) in 07’04”
10. Roman Kreuziger (Cze) at 07’11”
11. Bauke Mollema (Ned) at 13’13”
12. Sergio Luis Henao (Col) in 18’51”
13. Fabio Aru (Ita) in 19’20”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *