Dublin marathon 2014: the Kenyans triumph

The Dublin marathon frame

The Kenya Flag is waving in Dublin. Two Kenyan athletes dominate the last Edition of the Dublin Marathon 2014: Eliud Too and Esther Wanjiru Macharia.

Kenya’s Eliud Too has won the men’s category in this year’s Dublin marathon in a time of 2:14:48.

Esther Wanjiru Macharia (1987), also from Kenya, won the women’s category with a time of 2:34:15.

The Dublin marathon medal

The Dublin marathon medal

The Irish Marathon saw about 4,000 runners from 47 different countries and more than 10,000 athletes from the whole Ireland.

This was the 35th year of the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon.

The race has come a long way since its birth in 1980. Its birth was mainly due to the vision of Noel Carroll. The first race had a total of 1,420 finishers from an entry of 2,100. The first winner was Dick Hooper (2:16:14), Dick is the only person to win the race three times.

The overall winner receives the Noel Carroll Memorial Trophy as well as €15,000 cash prize. Prizes are also given for first Irish finisher, first masters finisher and first team finishers. A €5,000 prize is also given to any competitor who breaks the Dublin marathon record.

Last year the Dublin Marathon saw the Irish runners at the gold medals: Sean Hehir for the men category and Maria McCambridge for the women category.

The Dublin marathon frame

Medal In Frame is a “temple” designed and created for all runners in the SSE Airtricity Dublin Marathon who wish to keep and proudly show the results of their efforts and personal sacrifice: their medals.

Buy your frame here: www.medalinframe.com/prod/dublin-marathon/

For your personal best, important events, the nicest memories or a gift for a devote Athlete, Medal In Frame is a unique product that renews the emotions tied to sport over time.

The Dublin marathon frame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *